In Stores Now: Ronnie Montrose Featuring Ricky Phillips and Eric Singer, 10X10

Friday, September 29, 2017
In Stores Now: Ronnie Montrose, 10X10

If you grew up listening to FM radio in the ‘70s, then you know just how big a deal the late Ronnie Montrose was. Indeed, the man was nothing short of a guitar god, and many an axe man worshiped at his altar. When Montrose died in 2012, he’d been in the midst of putting together a new album with bassist Ricky Phillips and drummer Eric Singer, one on which he planned to feature 10 songs with 10 different singers, calling it 10X10, and although he died before bringing the project to completion, Phillips took it upon himself to finish what Montrose had started.

If the preceding paragraph seemed familiar as you were reading it, well, that’s because it was also the opening paragraph of a piece we ran a few weeks ago, when we were spotlighting an advance stream of one of the album’s tracks, “Still Singin’ With The Band,” featuring Deep Purple singer Glenn Hughes and Def Leppard guitarist Phil Collen. At the time, we forewarned you that 10x10 would be released on September 29, and… Hey, look at the calendar: that’s today!

10X10 is available digitally as well as on CD and 180-gram vinyl, and the aforementioned guests are in no way the only big names who participated in the recording of the album. Sammy Hagar, Edgar Winter, Tommy Shaw… The list goes on, but you can find all of the participants listed below, and you can find 10X10 in your friendly neighborhood record store or digital retailer of your choice right now.


Track Listing:

  1. “Heavy Traffic” Feat. Eric Martin & Dave Meniketti
  2. “Love Is An Art” Feat. Edgar Winter & Rick Derringer
  3. “Color Blind” Feat. Sammy Hagar & Steve Lukather
  4. “Still Singin’ With The Band” Feat. Glenn Hughes, Phil Collen & Jimmy “Z” Zavala
  5. “Strong Enough” Feat. Tommy Shaw
  6. “Any Minute” Feat. Mark Farner & Ricky Phillips
  7. “The Kingdom’s Come Undone” Feat. Ricky Phillips & Joe Bonamassa
  8. “One Good Reason” Feat. Bruce Turgon & Brad Whitford
  9. “Head On Straight” Feat. Davey Pattison & Marc Bonilla
  10. “I’m Not Lying” Feat. Gregg Rolie, Tom Gimbel & Lawrence Gowan

Oh, and keep your eyes open: in a mere two weeks, Rhino will also be releasing deluxe editions for Montrose’s self-titled 1973 debut and the 1974 follow-up, PAPER MONEY.

Everything’s coming up Montrose!

For more information, click the buttons below: